Connect with us

Boys Soccer

Western Conference boys soccer teams



The Western Conference boys soccer teams are for public school players in Hillsborough County. The selections were made by the coaches.

National Division

Coach of the year

Brian Dozark, King 

First team

Esey Afewerki, Sr., King

Dieunaldo Cherisca, Sr., Chamberlain

Ziad El Yazami, Sr., Wharton

Jose Garcia, Sr., Armwood

Prince James, Sr., Tampa Bay Tech

Patrick Kohel, Sr., Strawberry Crest

Jonathan Nguyen, Sr., Wharton

Sadiq Sameer, Sr., King

Brian Sanchez, Sr., Hillsborough

Anthony Valdes, Sr., Chamberlain

Gabriel Vasquez, Sr., Strawberry Crest

Second team

Leo Batista, Sr., Freedom

Nick Benvenuti, Sr., Strawberry Crest

Woodlerson Cyrius, Sr., Tampa Bay Tech

Thomas Kalach, Sr., King

Johnny Miramontes, Sr., Armwood

Jorge Mora, Sr., Freedom

Christian O’Halloran, Sr., Wharton

Orlando Pabon, Sr., Tampa Bay Tech

Adam Rowan, Sr., King

Ronan Saligame, Sr., Hillsborough

Jean Villela, So., Chamberlain

Federal Division

Coach of the year

Robert Salvog, Brandon HS

First team

Jorge Aguilar, Sr., Bloomingdale

Matt Almond, Jr. Newsome

Zian Church, Sr., Newsome

Camden Eichem, Sr., Riverview

Jahari Jackson, Sr., Brandon

Rex Lott, Sr., Plant City

Owen Lucey, Sr., Newsome

Cade McMillen, Jr., Bloomingdale

Andres    Quintero, So., Riverview

Julian Rodriguez, Jr., Brandon

Jacob Silva, Sr., Lennard

Second team

Matt Allred, Sr., Bloomingdale

Camron Ashman, Jr., Lennard

Anthony Arscott, So., Spoto

Kai Davila, Jr., Riverview

Angel Gradiz, Sr., Riverview

Brad Gutierrez, Sr., Lennard

Jarod Hendrix, Sr., Riverview

Jonas Ramirez, Sr., Brandon

Christopher Soto, So., Spoto

Kevin Vega, Sr.,  Brandon

Paul Watson, Sr., Brandon

American Division

Coach of the year

Chad Ebright, Steinbrenner

First team

Arman Alidaei, Sr., Steinbrenner

Carson Bay, Jr., Robinson

Conrad Burdette, Sr., Sickles

Edwin Caban, Jr., Leto

Jose Flores, Sr., Gaither

Carlos Gonzalez, Jr., Leto

Ethan Huggins, Sr., Steinbrenner

Jake Iller, Sr., Plant 

Hayden Judge, So., Plant

Alec McGregor, Sr., Alonso

David Sanchez, Sr., Gaither

Second team

Jairon Acosta, Sr., Leto

Karo Gilliam, Sr., Steinbrenner

Santiago Jaramillo, Fr., Gaither

Lucas Kaller, So., Alonso

Jackson Kassay, So., Alonso

Miha Kristovic, Sr., Plant

Adan McGlynn, Fr., Plant

Nathan Pham, So., Robinson

Bryan Rios, Jr., Leto

Jared Rodriguez, Sr., Steinbrenner

Julian Schumacher, Fr., Robinson

Continue Reading

Boys Soccer

Marcello Valbuena named state boys soccer player of the year



Tampa Catholic’s Marcello Valbuena, who led the Class 3A state champions in scoring, was named Mr. Soccer, the award given to the top boys player in the state by the Florida Dairy Farmers. 

Valbuena, named the 3A player of the year last week, received 12 of the 17 first place votes and had 134 points, 52 more than Fort Myers Canterbury’s McLaren Baggett, the 2A player of the year. 

This is the ninth time an area player has won the top overall honor in boys soccer. The last was Tampa Prep’s Shaddy Douidar in 2013. 

Valbuena, a senior forward, decided to play high school soccer for the first time this season after playing strictly at the club level. The University of Tampa signee finished with 36 goals and five assists. In the 3A state title match, Valbuena connected on two goals within an eight-minute span to give Tampa Catholic its first lead, one that would last the rest of the match to secure the Crusaders’ first state title in boys soccer. 

Continue Reading

Boys Soccer

Weeki Wachee’s Seth Tarbox named 4A player of the year



Weeki Wachee’s Seth Tarbox, one of the area’s top playmakers, was named the Class 4A state player of the year in boys soccer by the Florida Dairy Farmers.

The senior forward teamed with Jacob Kelly to form a dynamic 1-2 punch for the Hornets. Kelly scored a team-high 33 goals, many of which were set up by Tarbox. 

Tarbox was adept at putting the ball through the net, too. The Warner signee finished with 25 goals and 25 assists to help Weeki Wachee advance to the region finals. 

The winners in each classification were selected through voting from a statewide panel of boys soccer coaches and media representatives. They are now eligible to be named the overall winner in the state, which will go through another round of voting and likely be announced next week.  

Continue Reading

Boys Soccer

Boys soccer: Jesuit unable to repeat as 5A state champions



Winning a state title is difficult.

Repeating as a state champion is even more challenging. 

Graduation can take away key players. Complacency can take hold. Anything can happen. 

Jesuit’s boys soccer team knows. 

The Tigers, one of the area’s most storied programs, has won seven state titles, second locally behind Clearwater Central Catholic’s nine championships.  But only during a three-year stretch from 1997-99 was Jesuit to win those titles consecutively. 

That was the task the Tigers faced after taking home the 5A title last season. Jesuit said goodbye to 16 players who graduated, including Carson Bien, the 5A state player of the year. 

Losing that much talent off a roster would pose difficulties for any program. But Tigers always have reinforcements.

The newcomers filled in adequately. The holdovers took on bigger roles as leaders. The wins kept coming, so much Jesuit found itself in a familiar spot by making it back to Spec Martin Stadium in DeLand for Saturday’s 5A title match. 

But the Tigers could not hold on to a first half lead, falling in overtime to Belen Jesuit 2-1.

In the first half, Jesuit took the lead on a goal from Ty Cabbasa. Belen Jesuit answered early in the second half on a header from Aidan Miles to tie the match. 

It stayed that way through the end of regulation and one overtime period. 

In the second overtime, the Wolverines converted on a second-chance ball off a free kick to take the lead.

Jesuit tried to rally but could not get a shot to fall through the net that would have tied the match.

Continue Reading


Copyright © Prime Time Preps

%d bloggers like this: