Connect with us


Western Conference softball teams announced



Here are the Western Conference softball teams. The players are from public schools in Hillsborough County. The selections were made by coaches. 

American Division

First team

Coach of the year: Brenda Leach, Steinbrenner

P Ashley Shroll, Sr., Steinbrenner

P Robyn Herron, Sr., Sickles

C Madison Frey, Jr., Steinbrenner

1B Destiny DeHoyos, Sr., Robinson

IF Kathyria Garcia, Jr., Jefferson

IF DaNia Brooks, So., Sickles

IF Lindsey Chadwick, Jr., Robinson

OF Jordan Stephens, Sr., Robinson

OF Emily Chiarella, Jr., Steinbrenner

OF Abby Lucas, So., Plant

UTIL Jocelyn Wilkes, Jr., Gaither

Second team

P Olivia VanZandt, Sr., Robinson

P Ariana Gonzalez, Fr., Jefferson

C Riley Onisawa, So., Robinson

1B Hailey Bellamy, So., Steinbrenner

IF Candace Ripine, Jr., Robinson

IF Alex Wilkes, So., Gaither

IF Nathaly Galvis, Jr., Leto

OF Sydney Hall, Jr., Robinson

OF Alissia Vega, Jr., Alonso

UTIL Kohana Pousson, So., Robinson

Federal Division

First team

Coach of the year: Ally Ledenham, Newsome

P Kelsey Winters, Jr., Newsome

P Elana Roush, Fr., East Bay

C Lydia Castro, Sr., Newsome

1B Jadeyn Ruszkowski, Sr., Newsome

IF Karley Shelton, Fr., Newsome

IF Emily Smith, Sr., Durant

IF E-Mani Bailey-Usma, Sr., Bloomingdale

OF Samantha Walz, So., Newsome

OF Katy Bradbourne, Jr., Newsome

OF Shelby Allen, Jr., Durant

UTIL Mikayla Cable, Sr., Bloomingdale

Second team

P Maddie Droz, Sr., Bloomingdale

P Haleigh Thomas, Jr., Durant

1B Georgia Krohn, Sr., Bloomingdale

IF Alyssa Santos, Jr., Bloomingdale

IF Gaby Miller, Jr., East Bay

IF Kaitlyn Sigmundi, Jr., Lennard

OF Desiree Romeo, Sr., East Bay

OF Rylee Trice, Sr., Durant

OF Kelli McAvoy, Sr., Plant City

UTIL Alisha Quiles, Jr., Brandon

National Division

Coach of the year: Ashton Johnson, Strawberry Crest

First team

P Alyssa Grimes, Sr., Strawberry Crest

P Riley Collins, Jr., Wharton

C Sophia Cathey, Sr., Wharton

1B Lexi Cowles, So., Wharton

IF Tieley Vaughn, Sr., Wharton

IF Zoey Cardona, Sr., Armwood

IF Lilly Kiester, Sr., Freedom

OF Alexa Ringuette, So., Strawberry Crest

OF Jayla Troupe, Sr., Hillsborough

OF Destiny Breton, So., Chamberlain

UTIL Sydney Watson, Sr., Strawberry Crest

Second team

P Madison Clayton, Jr., Freedom

P Destiny Garcia, So., Hillsborough

C Kylee Dodson, So., Strawberry Crest

1B Kelsi Matthews, Jr., Freedom

IF Erica Wilton, Sr., Freedom

IF Genesis Martell, Jr., King

IF Ariana Murillo, Jr., Strawberry Crest

OF Mikayla Velasquez, Sr., Wharton

OF Hayley Lynch, Sr., Strawberry Crest

OF Aryiana Germain, So., Freedom

UTIL Ansley Brown, So., Freedom


Gulf Coast Eight softball selections announced



Here is the Gulf Coast Eight softball team. The players are from public schools in two counties, Citrus and Hernando. The selections were made by the coaches. 

Player of the year: OF/INF Molly Bender, Jr., Citrus

Coach of the year: Kevin Bittinger, Hernando

First team

P Ava Braswell, Fr., Hernando

C Hannah Taylor, So., Hernando

1B Savannah Ellis, So., Hernando

2B Shyanne Waller, Sr., Citrus

SS Tori Ratigan, Sr., Nature Coast

3B Izzy LaRoche, So., Nature Coast

OF Hannah Lynch, Jr., Hernando

OF Elizabeth Bochert, Sr., Lecanto

OF Lexi Lendo, Sr., Nature Coast

UTIL Raquel Camuglia, Sr., Springstead

UTIL Haleigh Thomas, Sr., Lecanto

Honorable mention

Central: Kelsey Shumate; Citrus: Ashton Lewis, Mattie Linhart; Crystal River: Tiyahanna Hopkins, Katelynn Tillis; Hernando: Solaris Genberg, Olivia Townsend; Lecanto: Emma Christiensen, Kaleigh Nonnenmacher; Nature Coast: Harper Bunn, Dom Sekelsky; Springstead: Alexis Adelman, Liberty Savarese; Weeki Wachee: Taylor Laviano, Madison Moran.

Continue Reading

College Softball

Softball: Four locals playing in Women’s College World Series



The championship series of the Women’s College World Series features a quartet of local softball players (three from FSU and one from Oklahoma). Here are the four to follow.  


OF Cassidy Davis, Sr.

High School: Newsome

The redshirt senior, who has already won a state high school title and national title, decided to return after her senior season was cut short last year because of the coronavirus pandemic. A utility player who spent time as a pitcher throughout her college career, Davis became an outfielder this year. She had two homers in the Tallahassee Region finale against UCF, and had game-winning sacrifice fly outs against LSU in the Super Regional and Arizona in a College World Series elimination game. 

C Kaia LoPreste, Fr.

High School: Riverview

The redshirt freshman had an immediate impact with the Seminoles, appearing in 20 games during last year’s abbreviated season and hitting .304. This year she has a .227 average and two doubles. 

UTIL Elizabeth Mason, Sr.

High school: Gaither

One of the Seminoles’ most versatile players, Mason can play just about anywhere in the field. She played a critical role in FSU’s run to the national title in 2018. She has been a consistent producer on offense throughout her college career. In the playoffs, Mason has come up big, hitting a game-tying homer against LSU in the Super Regionals and blasting a three-run shot against Alabama in the deciding game to reach the World Series. 


P Shannon Saile, Sr.

High school: Land O’ Lakes

Saile already made headlines by starting in game two of the Sooners’ Super Regional series with Washington that aired on ABC, the first nationally broadcast game in the sport. Saile helped Oklahoma advance and will likely pitch in at least one game in the College World Series. Saile helped Land O’ Lakes reach the state semifinals during her high school career and is trying to cap her college career with a national title.  

Continue Reading


Rosters set for FACA Softball All-Star Classic



The rosters for this year’s Florida Athletic Coaches Association Softball All-Star Classic, held Saturday at Bartow High’s Al Holland Complex/Rock Wren Field, have been released. Six area players were named to one of the four teams playing in games at 9 a.m., 11 a.m.,, 1 p.m. and 3. Tickets are $5. Here is the list of locals. 

West all-stars

C Raquel Camuglia, Springstead

SS/INF/P Adrianna Onessimo, St. Petersburg

SS/OF Brooke Roberts, East Lake

P/3B/2B Belle Sardja, Academy of the Holy Names

P/OF Ashley Shroll, Steinbrenner

P/1B Olivia Townsend, Hernando

Continue Reading


Copyright © Prime Time Preps

%d bloggers like this: