Connect with us


Volleyball: Calvary Christian’s Taylor Parks, Kim Whitney take 3A state honors



Calvary Christian’s volleyball team is starting to accumulate the accolades befitting a state champion. 

Taylor Parks, who led the Warriors  to their first title last month, was named the Class 3A state player of the year by the Florida Dairy Farmers. 

The sophomore setter finished the season  with 1,076 assists, 89 kills, 283 digs and a .324 hitting percentage while leading Calvary Christian through a brutal playoff bracket that included matches against Bishop McLaughlin, Tampa Prep, Ocala Trinity Catholic and Miami Westminster Christian. 

Calvary Christian coach Kim Whitney also was named the 3A state coach of the year. The former Clearwater Central Catholic star played four years at Kansas State and spent another 16 playing professionally (two years indoors, 14 years beach). She also was a coach at Pasco-Hernando State College in 2010 when the program won a national title. 

This season, Whitney guided a program that had never been past the region semifinals before to its first state title. And the Warriors earned it by beating three teams ranked among the top 35 nationally in the postseason, including two via sweeps. 

The winners in each classification were selected through voting from a statewide panel of volleyball coaches and media representatives. They are now eligible to be named the overall winner in the state, which will go through another round of voting and likely be announced later this month. 


Volleyball: Western Conference teams announced



Here are the Western Conference volleyball teams, which are comprised of public school players from Hillsborough County. The selections were made by the coaches.

National Division

Coach of the year: Jamee Marino, Strawberry Crest

First team

MH Bella Bonatakis, Sr. Wharton

MH Savannah Schwarz, So., Strawberry Crest

MH Lucy Pellenbarg, Jr., Hillsborough

OH Lillian Lee, Sr., Strawberry Crest

OH Malaina Dickey, Sr., Hillsborough

L Addison Barno, So., Freedom

S Gabrielle Frye, Sr., Wharton

Second team

MH Alexandra Friebolin, Sr., Strawberry Crest

MH Sydney Brown, Jr., Tampa Bay Tech

MH Jeilin Robinson, Sr., Middleton

MH Kelsi Gray, Sr., Armwood

OH Brooke Lewis, So., Tampa Bay Tech

L Kylie Lauderdale, Sr., Wharton

S Emma Futch, Sr., Strawberry Crest

Federal Division

Coach of the year: Jordan Alberts, Riverview

First team

MH Natania Fletcher, Sr., Newsome

MH Amari Fitts, Sr., Durant

OH Alexa Kosmopolis, Sr., Newsome

OH Kennedy Reed, Jr., Sumner

OPP Hannah Bowers, Sr., Riverview

L Brooke Arnold, Sr., Riverview

S Sydney Ginaitt, Sr., Newsome

Second team

MH Reagan McConomy, Jr., Riverview

MH Madison Sofarelli, So., Bloomingdale

OH Pam DeJesus-Trejedor, So., Riverview

OH Paige Zugay, Jr., Bloomingdale

OPP Iyanna Perry, Sr., Spoto

L Sarah Carter, Sr., Bloomingdale

S Paula LeBron, Sr., Bloomingdale

American Division

Coach of the year: Kesha Lindo, Gaither

First team

MH Liv Mogridge, Sr., Steinbrenner

MH Reese Friar, Sr., Plant

OH Lily Frierson, Sr., Plant

OH Zoe Chin, Sr., Steinbrenner

OPP Jordan Moore, Sr., Plant

L Sophia Kotsovolos, Sr., Plant

S Izzy Mogridge, Fr., Steinbrenner

Second team

MH Angelina Hanson, Fr., Gaither

MH Mia Holder, Sr., Sickles

OH Maggie Dostic, Fr., Plant

OH Emilie Vendrone, Sr., Sickles

OPP Emily Bentley, Jr., Gaither

L Madi Espy, Sr., Steinbrenner

S Tatum Pope, Jr., Sickles

Continue Reading


Volleyball: PCAC teams announced



Here are the Pinellas County Athletic County volleyball teams,for public school players. The selections were made by the coaches.

North Division

MH Olivia Aniol, Sr., East Lake

MH Erika Spankus, Jr., Tarpon Springs

OH Addison Engle, Jr., Palm Harbor University

OH Alexa Rangel, Sr., Palm Harbor University

OH Valentina Echeverri, Sr., East Lake

OH Olivia Nicely, Sr., Largo

L Kaylee Landmeyer, Sr., Palm Harbor University

S Maddie Avergonzado, Sr., East Lake

S Gabrielle Spankus, Sr., Tarpon Springs

L Ryleigh Powers, Sr., Tarpon Springs

South Division

MB Nevaeh Wright, Sr., Boca Ciega

MB Jenna Davis, Sr., St. Petersburg

MB Lauren Lewis, Jr., Osceola

OH Brianna Ferreira, Fr., Pinellas Park

OH Olivia Dal Sasso, Sr., Osceola

OH Jordan Bunce, Jr., St. Petersburg

L Taylor Loope, Sr., Osceola

L Livvi Harting, Sr., St. Petersburg

S Nikki Fowler, Sr., Osceola

S Alexis Baum, So., Northeast

Continue Reading


Hillsborough County Volleyball Player of the Year Poll – Dec. 20



Here are the nominations for the Hillsborough County volleyball of the year. Voting lasts until 9 a.m. Thursday. 

OH Bella Bonatakis, Sr.,Wharton: Finished with 368 kills, 168 digs and 75 blocks for the Wildcats this season.  

OH Michaela Clayton, So., Academy of the Holy Names: Ended up with 244 digs, 241 kills and 31 service aces for the 4A state semifinalist Jaguars. 

OH Lily Frierson, Sr., Plant: The 7A state player of the year totaled 309 digs and 267 kills in leading the Panthers to a state title this season. 

OH Olivia Hart, So., Tampa Prep: Finished with 317 kills, 315 digs and 61 service aces for the 3A region finalist Terrapins this season.  

MB Liv Mogridge, Sr., Steinbrenner: Recorded 167 kills, 62 blocks and 49 service aces for the 7A region semifinalist Warriors this season. 

OH/RS Ava Swain, Sr., Berkeley Prep: Ended up with 317 kills and 129 digs for the 3A region semifinalist Buccaneers this season. 

Continue Reading


Copyright © Prime Time Preps