Pinellas County Defensive Player of the Year Poll (Classes 8A-6A) – Dec. 28

Here are the nominees for the Pinellas County defensive player of the year in Classes 8A-6A. Voting lasts until 9 a.m. Saturday.

LB Caleb Coburn, Jr., East Lake: Ended up with 87 tackles, 6 ½ sacks and two forced fumbles for the 4-6 Eagles.

DE Demontae Gifford, Sr., Boca Ciega: Finished with 53 tackles and six sacks for 6-5 Pirates.

LB Adarius Hayes, So., Largo: Recorded 102 tackles and a sack for the 5-6 Packers.

DB D’Angelo Hutchinson, Sr., Northeast: The Louisville signee finished with 52 tackles and six interceptions for the 9-2 Vikings.

LB Elijah Mills, Jr., Countryside: Recorded 114 tackles, three fumble recoveries, two forced fumbles and two sacks for the 5-6 Cougars.

LB Garrick Ponder, Sr., Pinellas Park: Finished with 116 tackles, seven sacks and two interceptions for the 9-2 Patriots.