Hillsborough County Defensive Player of the Year Poll (Classes 8A-7A) – Dec. 31

Here are the nominees for the Hillsborough County football defensive player of the year in Classes 8A-7A. Voting lasts until 9 a.m. Monday.

LB Colin Bernstein, Sr., Steinbrenner: Recorded 123 tackles, two forced fumbles and a sack for the 7-4 Warriors this season.

DL Keyon Clark, Sr., Tampa Bay Tech: Ended up with 75 tackles, 17 sacks, two forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries while leading the Titans to their first 7A state final appearance.

LB Daemian Clute, Sr., Alonso: Recorded 94 tackles and 4 ½ sacks for the 6-4 Ravens this season.

LB DJ Haynes, Sr., Plant City: Finished with 90 tackles and eight sacks for the 6-5 Raiders this season.

LB Caden Huffman, Sr., Newsome: Ended up with 89 tackles, two sacks and two blocked punts for the 8-3 Wolves this season.

DL Jerry Johnson, Sr.,Armwood: Finished with 22 tackles and a sack for the 4-6 Hawks this season.

LB Booker Pickett Jr., So., Wharton: Recorded 60 tackles, 22 sacks and forced three fumbles for the 7A region finalist Wildcats.

DL Leo Tabakovic, Sr., Durant: Set the single-season school record for sacks with 11 ½ and school’s career record for sacks with 14.